GNEMA Scholarship – A Member Benefit

At the Annual Member Meeting held at Bally’s in Atlantic City on Thursday, October 11, 2018, Tim Stout, President of the Greater Northeast Motorcoach Association (GNEMA), announced the latest benefit for members, an annual scholarship program.

The program was developed to promote higher education goals of our members, and their families, whether it be to pursue a college degree or a trade certification. There will be two annual scholarships awarded.  One will be awarded for GNEMA Operator Members and one award will be awarded for GNEMA Allied Members.

Criteria for Eligibility:

  • Those eligible to apply for scholarships are full-time employees or the dependent children of full-time employees of Operator Member companies. Also eligible are the employees of Allied Members companies or the dependent children of the Allied Member companies.  (NOTE:  Dependent applicants that will be first year students may apply.  Enrollment will need to be validated before the award is given in October and final high school GPA will be requested.)
  • The eligible employee must have been employed for at least one year by January 1 in the year in which the scholarships are awarded.
  • Those eligible to apply must already be registered to a full-time college, professional school or trade school in the previous fall or at the time of application. They must also be holding a minimum GPA of 3.0 or if a professional school, the equivalent of a B grade.
  • The Scholarship Committee will accept applications between January 1 and June 30.   


  • The Scholarship Committee will be authorized to review the applications blindly, i.e. without names and make the selections. The Scholarship Committee will be appointed by the Board of Directors and will serve at the discretion of the Board. Our Executive Director, Pattie Cowley, will be the point-of-contact. If interested in serving on the Scholarship Committee, please contact Pattie via email at pcowley@gnema.org.
  • The winners or the parents of the winners must still be employed at the time the winners are selected.
  • The nominees will be invited to the Annual Association Member Meeting in the fall. While they may not be able to be present, a representative from the member company must be present to receive the scholarship.


  • The Association will dedicate funds raised during our Annual Scholarship Golf Outing to support the Scholarship Program, and potentially other events to be determined.


Past Scholarship Recipients:


Angela Nicolau, Motor Coach Industries

Karen Potter, DATTCO


Gavin McCuster, Klein Transportation

Sarah Sherman, Klein Transportation


Madison Butler, Turning Stone Casino

Reagan Ertel, Trans-Bridge Lines


Cory Bushner, Wind Creek Bethlehem

Jessie Kozicki, Stout's Transportation


Gage Baker, Wolf's Bus Lines

Erica Catanoso, Steel Pier